PDA

View Full Version : 390 buildup Qs

Bulltear Ad
Bulltear Ad

edaddi
07-12-2004, 12:02 PM
I have some newbie stuff for you guys if you don’t mind…well..first off…The 304 in my CJ is on its way out. A friend gave me a 390 to put into my jeep but it has a missing rod, and the reason for that is unknown. I’ve never done a rebuild before, but I am really looking forward to it. I’ve been reading the forums here for about a week or so, and there is obviously allot more I need to understand about the process and just the terminology in general. Before coming here I was planning on getting the Edelbrock performer heads, cam, and EFI mostly because I knew of nothing else available for the AMCs and Edelbrock has a good reputation. Now I see there are other options. But…I’m sure somebody has built something with the Edelbrock stuff already….are there any write-ups anywhere to satisfy my curiosity?

I’m primarily a trails and mud kinda guy. I like the torque on the trails and the HP/RPM for the mudruns. So I’m really torn as to where, in the RPM range (powerband?), I want the most power. But I do know I want more HP than the rest of the people I run with. :mrgreen:

I’m not sure I’m gonna have the technical ability, well anytime soon, to be able to pick out every component. So I’ve kinda been on the look out for kit, but at the same time am worried they won’t be the best for my application. What are your thoughts on kits like this one (http://fastengineparts.com/products_view.php?id=734)? Is there other any other places you’d recommend getting packages from?

Books….what AMC books are worth getting? I’d like to have a good rebuild book next to me when doing this. I also want to know more about things like what a compression ratio will do for me, what the different numbers on the cam specs are…little stuff to most of you….but I’m a computer geek and have no idea what it all means and does for me.

I’m sure I’ll have more questions….but now I’m just rambling…

TIA