PDA

View Full Version : need info on tcase guts quick

Bulltear Ad
Bulltear Ad

79cj7duner
02-27-2005, 09:25 PM
I need to know if the guts from Jeep dana 300 will work properly in a scout dana 300 case. I am trying to adapt to a Jeep T-18 B and I don't want to spend $500+ on adapters to do so. What about the bull gear? will one from a d20 work for the 300? I am new to these type transfer cases, and used to the stock Jeep d 300 style input. Maybe Since I have to bull gear, I can get MC to make me an adapter ring from the T-18 to work with the bolt pattern of a Jeep 300. I apreciate all insight. My buddy has a bare scout 300 case, and I have a Jeep 300 case, which is complete. Thanks.

jeepsr4ever
02-28-2005, 09:07 AM
Geez I really need to scratch my head on this one.... I know the dana 20 has 2 different bullgears and I believe the uncommon one was for the th400-dana 20 case or 71 and earlier.

tufcj
02-28-2005, 10:11 AM
The guts are the same - EXCEPT - to use a Scout 300 case you need the T-18/19 specific bull gear for the Scout 300. That particular gear is made from unobtainium. Basically any Scout 300 is useless without it. A model 20 bull gear is smaller and has a different tooth count and pitch. The only crossover I've heard is an automatic trans Scout 300 bull gear (fine spline) can be re-cut to the 6 spline T-18.

The Jeep 300 uses a splined input shaft and retainer for the bull gear instead of mounting it to the back of the trans. The adapter kits cost because you have to replace the output shaft of the T-18.

I run a Scout 300 in my CJ. I installed it before Tera-low came out with the 3.15 low for the model 20. If I had to do it all again, for what I paid for the 300, I could do the lower gears in the 20. I think you can also get a 4:1 gear set for the Scout 300 case that comes with the correct bull gear.

http://www.teraflx.com

Bob
tufcj

79cj7duner
02-28-2005, 11:17 AM