PDA

View Full Version : Ronco magneto full oiling

Bulltear Ad
Bulltear Ad

Blown7
07-12-2005, 06:48 PM
Hello all, this is my first post and introduce myself to you all, and my rig and to post a question. First I'm Jeff, my ride is a 78 CJ7, Matkins frame, 401 with a 6-71 blower, 8 PSI boost, 8.25-1 compression, Fel Pro bugcatcher with electronic FI, N2O, Reed cam, roller rockers, AMC performance oiling water injection with alky, A/C, Vertex mag, TH400 and Quadra Trac, Dana 44's F&R with a with my own design full floating rear. I've been restoring CJ's for 30 years so I needed the education and to design a full blown powerhouse. My question is as I was turning a new base for my Ronco mag on my lathe ( bought a SBC mag on ebay) I was wondering if anyone has ever used full pressure oil to lubricate the mag driveshaft bushings? I was going to tap off the oil galley and put a AN3 fitting in the base of the mag where the usual grease fitting is for the tach drive, I have already installed 4 bronze Ampco 18 bushings I made, the mag drive shaft is .495 dia I drilled a .531" clearance hole thru the custom magneto base I made to aid in oil flow, to all the bushings ( I could have installed the mag shaft with roller bearings but didn't feel like looking up and ordering any) I'm sealing the top bushing to the mag shaft with a o ring and at the bottom, I was going to either drill a cross hole at the bottom bushing to exhaust the oil or now I am contemplating cross drilling the shaft and the new Bulltear distrubutor gear I just ordered to put a oil bath right at the cam gear to distrubutor gear mesh. Any advice? BTW I am a aircraft mechanic, own my own aircraft repair shop with a full machine shop and welding/fab shop attached ( I was a Tool and Die maker for Pratt and Whitney Jet engines in a previous life) also fly my own Cessna 182 with a 300 hp conversion. Now aircraft engines are another story. Thanks to all in advance. Jeff

Bendaman
07-12-2005, 08:37 PM