PDA

View Full Version : Questions on 360 Rebuild

Bulltear Ad
Bulltear Ad

BlaSSer
10-18-2006, 09:17 AM
First off hello all, newbie here, lots of great info here!

I just finished the tear down of a 360 I picked up. Motor for the most part is in great shape, very recently rebuild. My goals are a DD with about 300ish HP. Nothing crazy, just a decent running motor. Found some issues with the bottom end and not sure how to proceed. Most of the bearings were golden in the middle so I'm guessing some oiling issues. My best guess is that they didnt prime the pump before trying to start it becuase it couldn't have been run long. It was bored 40 over so it obviously has new pistons.

1) One of the rods was installed backwards so the piston was correct but the taper was on the inside, instead of out.

2) All of the rods there out of order in comparison to their stamped numbers.

3) One fo the cylinders looks "washed" pretty good from fuel. The cylinder walls look ok but the piston shows some scuffing. That same piston and rod assy. were VERY tight, it took above normal effort to pivit the rod on the wrist pin.

What do you guys thing? Does the rods being out of place matter since the pistons were new? Also, can I just replace the one piston that has some scoring or do I have to replace them all?

Thanks for any help!
Craig

82Waggy
10-18-2006, 09:44 AM
Rods being out of order may or may ot make a difference, depending upon if they were all resized when the rebuild was done - not to say that putting them in out of order is good practice.

However, if the cylinders were honed to match the tolerences of each piston for proper wall clearance, as is good practice, and the pistons were then installed on the corresponding rod to indicate the proper bore, then placing them out of order could very well have resulted in improper clearances from one bore to the next.