PDA

View Full Version : Oil Cooler

Bulltear Ad
Bulltear Ad

etjeep
01-12-2007, 10:41 AM
Hi, my name is Eric. I am a newbie to this site and just posted and intro and some info on my 401 engine build in the Engines forum. I also did the engine oiling improvements, but I have a similar related question. Anyone running an oil cooler? If you were installing a temp sender, would you monitor the "hot" oil to the cooler or the cooled oil returning. I chose the latter because it was a cleaner installation with less fittings, etc. Is this a screw-up?

The motor is an AMC 401. Here is the temp guage I am using http://rides.webshots.com/photo/1466...69564115zBiBFs
Thanks for any input.

The geek in me wants the capability to monitor every conceivable parameter on my motor, but in this case a cleaner installation has more appeal. In my case, I have a sandwhich at the filter, so the oil flows from the pump through the sandwhich, diverting flow to the cooler. Return from the cooler goes back into the sandwhich, through the filter, then back into the pan. I believe this is fairly typical.

Also, not that it matters, but the sandwhich is thermostatically controlled, so the flow is diverted to the cooler when the temp exceeds 180 or 190 for faster heat up IIRC.

I had to change to a standard spin on oil filter instead of the premium (taller) filter, theres about an inch difference and the sandwhich took away some of my clearance for the filter.

You know this all started when I was going to install the "oil cooler" heat exchanger I picked up at a yard sale as a PS cooler. When I opened the box, the sandwhich was the right size and it had all the lines and fittings. I used 1/2" Al tubing from the sandwhich out just to keep it neat.

BTW I picked up a nice little tubing bender for $3 at Northern. My little bender would not do 1/2" w/o crimping. Worked like a charm.

Here are a few pics of the install so far.
http://rides.webshots.com/album/556534971OdxrYj