PDA

View Full Version : Lame newbie questions re: Intakes, castings and rocker arms

Bulltear Ad
Bulltear Ad

401 Pacer
08-05-2007, 05:41 PM
Boy howdy do I have some lame-o questions....let me preface this by saying that while I've been a professional mechanic for 30 years there's a lot I don't know about hopping up an AMC V8.

Ferinstance, what's yer take on the following intakes (arranged according to RPM range):

Offenhauser Dual Port
Great in theory, does it actually work?
and in a similar vein:
SP2P
Good for MPG and torque below about 4000 rpm

Performer
I seldom find much power improvement over stock manifolds in general...not even with the stock small block Chevy, and that intake is pretty restrictive. If the price of a used one is cheap enough it may be worth it just for the weight savings!

Performer RPM
Air Gap versus regular Performer (the AG seems to be the way to fly)

R4B
Single plane/open plenum, ancient design, tends to suck gas like a pig

Torker
Single plane/open plenum, slightly less ancient, more fuel efficient but still not very street friendly

I realize that list is all over the map, so allow me to 'splain. Am building a fairly wicked but streetable 401 for a Pacer (stop laughing) but also have a daily driver Matador coupe (I already told you...stop laughing!). The Matador has a tired 304 which I will swap out with a 360.

Obviously the 401 will be getting one of the higher RPM intakes and the 360 will be slated for the economy flavor.

The other question I have is concerning heads, in particular, the style of rocker arms. Which are better suited for performance? I really don't need or want uber expensive mega RPM types, just something reasonably strong and LONG LASTING.

Lastly, are there better years concerning castings (core shift etc) for the blocks and heads?

Thanks!

Note to mods, feel free to move this to whatever section that may be more appropriate.

1980_Cj7
08-05-2007, 06:08 PM
Finally, a 401 Pacer. I luv it!!!