PDA

View Full Version : 76 Hornet

Bulltear Ad
Bulltear Ad

cjmike67
12-19-2007, 10:31 PM
Sorry here all im new to the 1/4 mile stuff and could use some input.I have a 1976 Hornet with very little if any rust[california car].It is a 258 six with the 2 barrel carb.A blown up Torqueflite and a crappy old model 35.So here is where i need some input.I have a Currie 9 inch 31 spline custom rear end that i have received last month.I am wondering or hoping for some input as to what gears to put into this diff?I have already located a 700r4 tranny for free[ will rebuild as needed] and will NOT be running the 258 as a drag motor.I have been given a set of new `5:29 gears for it and am wondering am i wasting my time with the auto or should i just spring for a Richmond 6 speed ???I know its a sort of weird application here but i love this car and want to beat the every day Mustangs Camaro or rice rocket that is running around here in Vancouver.Will a 290 built to rev be a good power plant or???? :oops:

The PIG Smith
12-20-2007, 06:56 PM
I know its a sort of weird application here but i love this car and want to beat the every day Mustangs Camaro or rice rocket that is running around here in Vancouver.Will a 290 built to rev be a good power plant or???? :oops:
I would like to suggest a AMC 360 V8 instead of the 290, unless you already have the 290.
360's are common as grass and you should be able to pick one up for cheap.
401's are the uber AMC V8, but not as common (at least not around here) as the 360 and may cost some coin to get a builder.

Someday, I would love to own a AMC powered Boulevard Bruiser to spank some Mustangs, Camaro and Ricers! hehehe

cjmike67
12-20-2007, 10:01 PM