PDA

View Full Version : 360 tow motor advice

Bulltear Ad
Bulltear Ad

steviesj20
10-22-2008, 11:25 AM
Need some opinions from you guys.

Background: I am a novice shade tree mechanic so be easy on me. I have a 1990 GW that I am using to tow my travel trailer. The 360 engine was rebuilt approximately 9,500 miles ago by a previous owner and has good oil pressure. I assume the pistons are stock. It has an Edelbrock cam, lifters, timing chain, intake, Howell tbi, stock manifolds, single 2.5" exhaust with Magnaflow cat/muffler. The engine is good for everyday driving but needs more power on the towing side. The hills are hurting me. I am running stock tires and 3:31 axle ratio. (I know the gears stink for towing but I need the best of both worlds).

I intend to put an Edelbrock efi system on the engine.

Should the cam be changed to something different?

Would you do something different to the cylinder heads?

Would shorty header help? I don't want the vehicle too noisy (wife) for highway use.

Please throw some opinions my way
Thanks!

tufcj
10-22-2008, 12:53 PM
I really don't think you'll see much difference between the Howell and Edelbrock EFI systems as far as power. Shorty headers and a dual exhaust with an X or H pipe may help some. The Edelbrock cam is pretty good for towing.

The gears are your big problem for towing. Personally, I'd swap to about a 3.73 gear with stock tires for towing. With the other improvements, you shouldn't see much drop in mileage when not towing.

Bob
tufcj

Dusty
10-22-2008, 12:56 PM
why change to the edelbrock EFI? there is a marginal gain at best if any over the Howell TBI and for your size motor and hp level what do you hope to gain?

An HEI distributor might help.

Your heads are fine dont change em there all pretty much the same unless you want a mild .5 compression jump then go source a set of ubber hard to find 291 heads with the small chambers