PDA

View Full Version : AMC 360

Bulltear Ad
Bulltear Ad

CJ Runner
11-21-2008, 08:08 PM
I should be able to start my CJ5 in the next couple days :t: and since I've never done this before I had some questions. To give you some background it's an AMC 360 w an edelbrock performer intake and rebuilt Holley 4160 600CFM carb. I've upgrade the distributor witha bigger cap and rotor and put on a pair of headers. I've also added a painless wiring harness.

I plan on using Shell Rotella to pre-oil and break in the engine as it was recommended by the company I bought my engine from (S&S engines).

I need to set my engine timing and while I've read how to do it on previous threads (any tips/experiences are appreciated though), I'm unsure as to what my initial timing should be. Initial is 8* BTDC for the AMC 360 correct? Will this change since I've put a 4bbl intake and Holley 4160 600CFM carb on the engine? This is a newly rebuilt carb so should a worry about getting the cam broke in before adjusting it?

I plan on having my dad start the engine and watching the tach to keep it around 2000 RPM as was recommended for breaking in the cam. Would it be beneficial to have a vacuum gauge to read the manifold vacuum? I've read that it is very important to break in the cam at approx 2000 RPM to avoid developing flats on the cam lobes. So do I just set the initial timing and run the engine like that and then set the proper engine timing at idle when the cam is broke in? Should I plug the vacuum advance while breaking it in or plug it to the ported vac on my carb since I'll be running at around 2000 RPM? What type of oil pressure should I be seeing at around 2000 RPM.

mkzmomo
11-22-2008, 06:18 AM