PDA

View Full Version : AMC 360 built for torque ideas

Bulltear Ad
Bulltear Ad

Saltwater Cowboy
04-30-2009, 05:54 PM
Alright, I am getting ready to rebuild my stock 360 in my CJ 7. I want this thing built for low end torque. My CJ has a NP 435/D300 Dana 60/14 bolt with 4.56 gears and 40" tires. I have had this motor for about a year now and it is starting to get weak. The Jeep is basically a trail rig and rarely sees pavement. We have everything up here in Alberta from mud to rocks, hills and sand. Should I just leave it stock and rebuild it or should I make some mods. Once again I am looking for low end torque so all those hp mods that move the power up in the RPM band is not what I am looking for. I am new to AMC motors but have learned a lot on this site. Thanks for any advice.

ironman_gq
04-30-2009, 06:27 PM
bump up the compression, Get a good cam (Engle, or other good off-road cam) edelbrock performer intake good carb to go with intake. stick with stock exhaust manifolds, single 3" exhaust. That should just about do it. YOu shouldnt have to worry about oiling mods beyond small hole cam bearings or pushrods and makings sure your oil pump is in good shape/ midplate and gears for MC here or maybe one of his nickel plated covers.

Saltwater Cowboy
04-30-2009, 10:18 PM
What cam would you suggest? I have a speed pro cam here that came out of another motor. It's specs are 204/214 dur. @ 0.050, 448/472 lift, and 110 deg lobe sep. Would this work? I also have a R4B intake, I know this intake jumps the power higher in the RPM range but would it hurt me more than help? Thanks again.

msalaba
05-01-2009, 06:35 AM
In my 360, I run a Summit K8600 cam, Edelbrock performer intake, stock exhaust manifolds and stock bottom end. This setup had good low torque and ran strong to about 5500 RPM.

Desktop dyno gives this setup a flat torque curve from about 2000 - 4400 RPM and then drops like a rock.