PDA

View Full Version : Getting Ready to purchase in the near future.

Bulltear Ad
Bulltear Ad

Mav68erick
07-02-2011, 04:50 PM
As Ive already called and talked to Matt twice, Im still snow balling exactly how im going to go about decieding what I want to do.

Heres what Im thinking, Obviously no smaller then a 4x4 I got the perfect spot for it in my side of a partitioned pole barn, Its roughly 20 x 22 for my work area, and I got a 68 camaro on a jig I built that I can roll around. Now 4x4 would still leave me with plenty o room but Im possibly thinking of building a 30 x 40 or bigger pole barn next year, and think I should just get a 4 x 8 now and live with the space issues.

The only thing I dont like about the 4 x 8 is well, how do you load a full sheet by your self! I worked in a shop, we had 2 lasers 1 was a mazak and we used an electric lift to slide it onto the table sideways onto the table rollers, yes you could slide it without the lifters up just took a little more work. The Bystronic had no rollers and we loaded that with the forklift. Now I can see loading 16g or smaller by myself, but the fact you have to do it long ways rather then from the side, you need some sort of table extension or rollers to do this. And this isnt even part of the bigger issue, where do you store these bigger sheets, and then picking them up is another story. So as much as buying bigger first seems like a good Idea, it all really seems like more work then to just have full sheets sheered in half IMO, I mean a 4 ft wide sign seems like it would be pretty big. If I had the bigger barn id prolly get a small forklift at an auction and be done with it but I wanna work with what I got.