PDA

View Full Version : AMC 360 compression/octane questions

Bulltear Ad
Bulltear Ad

jairush
01-29-2012, 11:02 AM
Hi- I just joined this forum, looks like you have tons of good information here! I have some general compression questions and am curious to hear your thoughts and suggestions. I have searched

The backstory- I am rebuilding an AMC 360 of approximately 1984-'86 vintage for my CJ-7. I want to do a moderate performance rebuild as my plan is to eventually acquire an AMX or Javelin to swap the engine into, followed by a diesel in the CJ. That's another story for a different day. My goal is to build an engine with a power band in the idle-4000rpm (or so) range, with 350 hp and 400 ft lbs torque at the flywheel. (I know, the jeep doesn't need that much power, but I'm an engineer and the challenge is part of the fun) This is a fairly low budget rebuild.

The engine will be bored .030 over. The ports have been gasket matched, rough spots removed, nothing too extreme. A 3 angle valve job has been done. I will run an Edelbrock Performer intake and long tube in frame headers leading to dual Flowmaster 40 series mufflers. Fuel delivery is via an early '90s GM TBI system with a hybrid TFI/MSD 6 ignition. The ECM also controls the spark (no knock sensor, though). Cam will be the Summit K8600 or possibly the Comp Cams 268H grind. Manual transmission.

Does my target power seem reasonable? From my research it seems legitimate, but I don't know that I can do it without upping the compression a bit. If I can accomplish it at stock compression that would be great, but I am assuming I can't.