PDA

View Full Version : Building a 401

Bulltear Ad
Bulltear Ad

smanley820
01-09-2013, 07:17 AM
I'm starting to plan my build of a 401 that I aquired a while back. I have read many post regarding all of the issues associated with these motors. That being said I am still going to do it. I have read BJ Builds an AMC and I have some questions that I hope "Jeepsr4ever" will chime in on. This will be in a Jeep that will be running trails and on the street. I'm not building a racer nor will this thing probably see 5000 rpm but I do want the torque and power available. Having said that, I am curious as to what oiling and or block mods you guys would suggest for my application. Just trying to put the best ideas together for my engine so i can get started. I WILL be buying almost all of my parts from Bulltear since all of my research points back to his quality parts. I'm hoping to lean on the expertise of this forum over the next year as I build my engine since I am not an expert in this field. It will not be an short project but will be over a longer period of time. Thank you in advance for all your thoughts and consideration

Scott

jeepsr4ever
01-10-2013, 09:16 AM
Their is a short list of things to do. The question is how much is a machinist doing and how much do you plan to do.

smanley820
01-10-2013, 11:55 AM
The machinist will 80% Most likely I will bolt it together. Just looking for direction on the best things to do. My main concern is the cam/dizzie gear issues.

smanley820
01-10-2013, 12:35 PM
I'm planning on purchasing most of my parts from Bulltear! Most likley everything except the cam

tufcj
01-10-2013, 12:37 PM