Warning: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is deprecated, use preg_replace_callback instead in ..../includes/class_bbcode.php on line 2968

Warning: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is deprecated, use preg_replace_callback instead in ..../includes/class_bbcode.php on line 2962
AMC 500CI
Bulltear Ad
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: AMC 500CI

AMC 500CI

I've been punting some ideas around and could use some input, especially from anyone who has sleeved a 401.
    I think the 401 rocks, and I think that it builds torque so well for it's size due to the crank design... but I'm no expert.
    I'd read about sleeving the 401 to ~4.374/500ci and running bb ch*vy rods/pistons and a moldex crank. Seems to me it ought to just pound out the torque unlike a Caddy 500 because of what I think is a better designed crank.
    I was pretty excited to see the ICH AMC 500 being built and that motivated me even more to research this a lil further for a lower cost option since the iron 401 block is tough enough on it's own virtues (and mega cheaper).
    What my concern is largely is that if the bore was sleeved to meet the 4.374 in an iron block would that effect the cooling for a road running rig? I know drag racers fill the water jacket and I don't have that option.
    Whatcha think and what would the Moldex crank cost (would ICH's crank work in my iron block?)?????
    '65 J200 401

Thank you from BT ULTIMUS MAXIMUS STATUS jeepsr4ever's Avatar
    I know its not that expensive to build a 427 AMC stroker and to sleeve an overbored 401...hmmmm I have a .060 over 401 sitting here from Hammer (froadin.com) that I am thinking of punching...I should do a buildup on the SOB and see where its dynoed.....but I have alot on my plate right now
    [COLOR=#000000]
    Featuring www.StarLabCNC.com[/URL] for CNC plasma machines
    1-651-433-3689 TOLL FREE 1-855-433-3689