Bulltear Ad

Thread: Holley tuneing 101...help

Holley tuneing 101...help

Ok I am in the middle of tuneing in my holler truck avenger 670 cfm. After changeing intakes and it not running good. Then after talking to a guy at a local shop I check a couple things and find I am running way to rich. Checked one of the plugs and it was pretty black. held my hand over the exhaust and my hand reaked of nasty smell. So I come to the conclusion that I need to re jet. I have never done it before and searched on the net and found a decent write up. Well after calling around to a few parts stores I cant find just the individual jets, only one store has a complete kit. So its either that or nothing. So I brake down and pay the $42 for the dam thing and pull tha carb to change the jets. From the factore it had 68 primary and 89 seconedary. I know I was running pretty rich so I jump down two sizes to 66 pri and 87 sec. Put it back together and put it on. After haveing to take it back apart cause the stupid fuel tube didnt seal in the rubber seal things. (What ever you want to call them, my engine got covered with fuel as soon as I hit the key and turned on the fuel pump) After that bout of cussing and cleaning, more cussing nad then finally got it together. Fire it and and take it for a spin. seems to run a little better. After takeing it down the road, getting it warmed up and burning the tires a little I come back to adjust the thing a little bit. My choke is still not comeing all the way off. It was working just fine one day, then the next it starts not comeing all the way off. Its about 95% open, but just closed engouh to make it idle at around 100-1100rpm. I can open the choke by hand and blip the throttle and it will drop to idle like it should. I adjust it a little and think I got it working now. I adjust the mixture screws a little, but because the jumpy needle from (I was told the cam?) I cant really get them adjusted right. So I do it best I can my ear. I do notice that i