Warning: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is deprecated, use preg_replace_callback instead in ..../includes/class_bbcode.php on line 2962

Warning: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is deprecated, use preg_replace_callback instead in ..../includes/class_bbcode.php on line 2958
Enough beef for 401?
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Enough beef for 401?

Enough beef for 401?

I'm a drivetrain novice. I bought a cj5 with a 401. There's no gears in the front differential. I think the guy punched it and broke some teeth off a ring gear or something. It's got a Dana 44 rear. Not sure what the ratio is yet. I've got a Dana 30/AMC 20 combo from my other CJ. My question is what would be a solid front rear combo to handle the 401. I'm not heavy footed, but I also don't want to be off in the woods and bust a gear. Price is an issue, but I'm not scared to spend either. Trying to make a list of things I want. Not sure what models the tranny/transfer case are but it's a 3 speed and the TC is 4H-2H-N-4L

What size tires you gonna run?
    Moderate or extreme riding?
    I would dump the 3 speed and probably go with a T-18 4 speed (or something equal) especially if you are mainly doing woods and not road.
    D-44's are OK for moderate.... but not extreme. D-60, 14 bolt, D-70, for extreme. Rockwell's handles very extreme trails and are still fairly cheap too but are going up in price. Mogs are great but on the expensive side.
    A CJ5 is a lot of fun....and exciting to wheel in! Good luck to ya!
    IF FIRST YOU DON'T SUCCEED...THEN MOPEDAL!

Thank you from BT ULTIMUS MAXIMUS STATUS
    Quote Originally Posted by MoPedal
    What size tires you gonna run?
    Moderate or extreme riding?
    I would dump the 3 speed and probably go with a T-18 4 speed (or something equal) especially if you are mainly doing woods and not road.