Warning: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is deprecated, use preg_replace_callback instead in ..../includes/class_bbcode.php on line 2968
Dana 60 rear swap
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Dana 60 rear swap

Thank you from BT Grease Monkey

Dana 60 rear swap

Has anyone narrowed a Dana 60 for a narrow trac CJ. I am looking to upgrade my M20 and have found this 60 pretty cheap. Are parts available, like axles and disc brakes for a jeep setup. Any info would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Thank you from BT ULTIMUS MAXIMUS STATUS tufcj's Avatar
    Depends on what 60 you get. If it's a 30 spline, the axle shafts are no bigger than a 44. Axle shafts will be custom, and you will have to run 8 lug, and probably 16" wheels. You add a huge amount of unsprung weight, and unless you shave the housing, you lose ground clearance.

I've been running a 44 with 37" tires for several years. I have tweaked the splines on one axle, but haven't broken anything yet. I can sometimes clear obstacles where a 60 will drag. I am pretty conservative with the skinny pedal, but I've also run some of the hardest trails around (Rubicon 2X, and the Dakota Challenge 3X), so I'm no slouch either.

I do have a Dana 60-2 from an early 1970s Jeep J truck. It's a 35 spline, 1.5" axle shaft semi floater with 5 on 5.5" bolt pattern. I plan on narrowing it one day to widetrack CJ, and it will also get shaved. I'm running a narrowed Dana 44HD up front, because I did break the Dana 30 several times (hubs, u-joints, and a carrier).

Bob
    tufcj
    1969 AMX
    1967 Rambler Rogue

If you need a tool and don't buy it...
    you'll eventually pay for it...
    and not have it.
    Henry Ford

Thank you from BT ULTIMUS MAXIMUS STATUS jeepsr4ever's Avatar