Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 76 Hornet

76 Hornet

Sorry here all im new to the 1/4 mile stuff and could use some input.I have a 1976 Hornet with very little if any rust[california car].It is a 258 six with the 2 barrel carb.A blown up Torqueflite and a crappy old model 35.So here is where i need some input.I have a Currie 9 inch 31 spline custom rear end that i have received last month.I am wondering or hoping for some input as to what gears to put into this diff?I have already located a 700r4 tranny for free[ will rebuild as needed] and will NOT be running the 258 as a drag motor.I have been given a set of new `5:29 gears for it and am wondering am i wasting my time with the auto or should i just spring for a Richmond 6 speed ???I know its a sort of weird application here but i love this car and want to beat the every day Mustangs Camaro or rice rocket that is running around here in Vancouver.Will a 290 built to rev be a good power plant or????
    cj7 360 roller motor 291c heads np435 dana300 4-1 plus northwest fab 2.72 black box, currie hi pinion 9 inch front and currie rock jock dana60 rear,38 inch tsls custom shackle reversal and a little bit of rust lol

Helpfull BT forum member Junior wrench of the Forum

Re: 76 Hornet

Quote Originally Posted by cjmike67
    I know its a sort of weird application here but i love this car and want to beat the every day Mustangs Camaro or rice rocket that is running around here in Vancouver.Will a 290 built to rev be a good power plant or????
    I would like to suggest a AMC 360 V8 instead of the 290, unless you already have the 290.
    360's are common as grass and you should be able to pick one up for cheap.
    401's are the uber AMC V8, but not as common (at least not around here) as the 360 and may cost some coin to get a builder.

Someday, I would love to own a AMC powered Boulevard Bruiser to spank some Mustangs, Camaro and Ricers! hehehe
    Bryan Smith
    Fort Wayne, Indiana