Bulltear Ad
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: roller tip to valve stem contact

Helpfull BT forum member Swabie

roller tip to valve stem contact

Long story, but an engine guy suggested I try running roller rockers in my 401 w/o machining the pedestals down by compensating with longer pushrods. I have been running this motor for several years w/o much trouble. I have it apart for some other maintenance and am again looking at my rocker arm geometry with this set up. Technically the roller tip should be centered on the valve stem. By eyeball it looks pretty good, however when I ink up the valve stem and check contact area I am slightly off-set towards the intake. Maybe 10-15%. Should I have any big concerns, or keep on keeping on?
    401 CJ-8
    472 Caddy Powered J Truck
    85 SJ
    46 CJ-2A
    64 Flattie Wagon w/4.0L Fuelie

Thank you from BT ULTIMUS MAXIMUS STATUS tufcj's Avatar
    Optimally, there should be as little movement of the roller on the tip of the valve as possible. The slight offset won't hurt anything as long as the roller isn't contacting the valve keeper and the pivot on the rocker isn't contacting the stud. If it's been running OK that way, let it go unless you have the heads off for other machine work. The only down side I see is that the longer pushrod has more chance of flexing under the pressure of the open valve.

Bob
    tufcj
    1969 AMX
    1967 Rambler Rogue

If you need a tool and don't buy it...
    you'll eventually pay for it...
    and not have it.
    Henry Ford

Thanks for your input. Roller is nowhere near the keeper, and the rocker arm pivot "slot" does not touch the stud or nut, Running trickflow 5/16" rods, etc....so I think I'm good. I have the heads off to repair a burnt valve, so I thought I would revisit this. I do plan to re-check push rod length after the heads are done though.

Thanks!
    401 CJ-8
    85 SJ
    46 CJ-2A