Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Fresh rebuilt AMC304, first start up and oil psi is too high

Bulltear forum member New to the forum

Fresh rebuilt AMC304, first start up and oil psi is too high

Hello everyone. Newbie here.
    I'm currently doing a frame up rebuild on a 1979 CJ5. Has a 304, Ti76 and Dana 300. Had the engine completely rebuilt by a local machine shop. Both machinists there are in their 70s and one used to race AMC motors.
    Motor was completely rebuilt. All bearings, seals, pistons, bored .30 over. mild comp cam. Edelbrock performer intake, complete Holley Sniper EFI system. I used Bulltear AMC oil pump kit + upgrades. Did the standard HD version for oil filter adapter and the HRC gears.
    Started engine for the first time today. It has Lucas 20w50 break in oil in it. Was given to me by my engine builder. Carquest oil filter - 85258. They assembled the front cover and oil pump and I know they packed it with grease upon assembly to 'prime' it. It started right up and sounded great but my oil pressure is reading 100psi on the gauge I temporarily hooked up to monitor it. Nothing is leaking and the engine didn't sound strange. The gauges I'm using did come with an oil pressure sending unit so I don't know if it is a calibration issue. I'm going to call auto meter tomorrow.
    Asking for some advice as to where I start? Pressure relief valve? Wrong oil filter? Bad gauge reading and need a different one?

Thanks in advance

Harold

Name:  20230704_204232.jpg
Views: 291
Size:  92.4 KBName:  20230704_204400.jpg
Views: 316
Size:  84.8 KBName:  IMG-20230704-WA0000.jpg
Views: 263
Size:  101.6 KB

Thank you from BT ULTIMUS MAXIMUS STATUS tufcj's Avatar